Erfolgsstory

Horizn Studios - Travel Brand für smartes Reisen hebt mit vereinfachten Operations ab

In Zahlen

94%

pünktliche Lieferungen

99.8%

Produktverfügbarkeit

35%

monatliche Wachstumsrate

Frischer Wind für eine jahrhundertealte Branche: Wie Horizn Studios, Europas führende Smart Travel Brand, mit Flexport seine Operations transformiert.

Überblick

Horizn Studios ist Europas führende Gepäckmarke für Reisende der nächsten Generation. Modernste Technologien im Zusammenspiel mit smarten Designs erfüllen perfekt die Anforderungen der urbanen Nomaden. Das wachstumsstarke, internationale Unternehmen fertigt seine innovativen Gepäckstücke und Reiseaccessoires aus sorgfältig ausgewählten, erstklassigen Materialien, die es aus aller Welt bezieht.

Herausforderung

Horizn Studios war Europas erste Smart Travel Brand und die erste vertikal ausgerichtete Reisegepäckmarke. Anfängliche Herausforderungen beim Vertriebsmanagement waren auf mangelnde Transparenz bei der Planung und Kommunikation zurückzuführen. Die junge, schnell wachsende Marke musste zunächst Vertrauen bei Partnern und Kunden gewinnen. Um richtig abzuheben, waren präzise, übersichtliche und verlässliche Supply-Chain-Prozesse gefragt.

Lösung

Horizn Studios setzte auf Flexport als Speditionspartner, um Transparenz und Kontrolle in den Warenversand zu bringen. Das operative Geschäft sowie die Kommunikation mit Partnern und Kunden wurden optimiert. Das Resultat: ein monatliches Wachstum von 35 % bei so gut wie keinen Fehlbeständen.

"Auch andere große Spediteure haben Portale, aber viel mehr als den Sendungsstatus gibt es da nicht zu sehen. Der praktische‚ Check-In-Aspekt von Flexport fehlt. Die Echtzeitdaten aus der Flexport-Plattform sind für uns und unsere Kunden von größtem Wert. Sie optimieren die Kommunikation und Planung."

Rafael Haymann
Head of Operations, Horizn Studios

Die Anfänge

Horizn Studios wurde 2015 in Berlin gegründet. Das Ziel: Reisegepäck für die kreative Community zu entwickeln – Menschen, die hohe Qualität, Design und einen globalen Spirit schätzen. Nach smarten Gepäckstücken wurde das Sortiment um Rucksäcke und Reisetaschen erweitert. Hinzu kommen Accessoires und Services, die das Reisen so komfortabel wie möglich machen sollen.

Ohne die nötige Bekanntheit war es zunächst eine Herausforderung, den richtigen Partner für die Logistik zu finden. Doch bald setzte stetiges Wachstum ein, und beim schnellen Aufstieg zu Europas führender SmartTravel-Brand verlagerte sich der Fokus auf Prozessoptimierung – präzisere Prognosen, effizientere Produktionsabläufe, mehr Transparenz beim Fulfillment und Benchmarking. Heute liegt die Produktverfügbarkeit bei 99,8 % und 94 % aller Sendungen treffen pünktlich ein.

Transparenz, Kommunikation und Expertise

Wichtige Sendungsdaten, die zentral erfasst und für alle Beteiligten in Echtzeit aktualisiert werden, halten Horizn Studios auf dem Wachstumskurs. „Auch andere große Spediteure haben Portale, aber viel mehr als den Sendungsstatus da nicht zu sehen“, so Haymann. „In den Zeiten vor Flexport konnten wir kaum an aktuelle Informationen kommen. ‚Weiß nicht, melde mich wieder‘, bekamen wir zu hören. Dieses ewige Hin und Her konnte ganz schön zermürbend sein.“ Jetzt bleibt mehr Zeit für wichtigere Aufgaben, beispielsweise die Feinabstimmung zwischen Produktion und Fulfillment. „In Sachen Logistik brauchen wir uns keinerlei Sorgen mehr zu machen“, ergänzt Haymann.

Sogar in den Webshop wurden Daten aus der Flexport-Plattform eingebunden, um aktuelle Informationen über Bestände und Liefertermine bereitzustellen. „Wenn ein Artikel vergriffen ist, können wir angeben, wann er wieder verfügbar wird. Diese Zahlen übernehmen wir unverändert aus dem Flexport-System“, erläutert Haymann.

Verlässliche Daten dieser Art sind auch wichtig für die Partnerschaften mit Großhändlern, die Horizn Studios nun ausbaut. Das Wachstum der Marke hängt eng mit dem Vertrieb zusammen. Je besser die Skalierung über Handelspartner und andere Vertriebskanäle, desto klarer die Wachstumskurve.

Dank Flexport haben Kontrolle und Transparenz die Planung über das gesamte Unternehmen hinweg optimiert – von der Warenannahme bis hin zur Terminierung von Marketingkampagnen. „Wir alle haben Zugang zur Flexport-Plattform und der damit verbundenen Expertise. Neben dem Fulfillment sind auch Bereiche wie Business Development, Produktion und Finanzen eingebunden“, so Haymann. „Mindestens drei Abteilungen arbeiten täglich damit.“

Wie allen Kunden wurde Horizn Studios ein eigenes Flexport-Team zur Seite gestellt. Bei Fragen oder Komplikationen, beispielsweise unlängst Problemen mit Zolldeklarationen, springt es ein, um Sendungen auf Kurs zu halten.

Ein globaler Partner

Haymann weiter: „Wir sind ein international ausgerichtetes Unternehmen. Unsere Mitarbeiter kommen aus 30 verschiedenen Ländern. Deshalb suchten wir einen wahrhaft globalen Partner, der international flexibel agiert. Genau dieser Partner ist Flexport.“ Wichtig war auch ein Bezug Horizn Studios‘ Innovationskultur: „Flexport ist kein gewöhnlicher Spediteur. Da sind Schwung und Dynamik im Spiel – wie bei uns auch.“

Für die Zukunft sieht Horizn Studios eine Fülle von Expansionsmöglichkeiten, die von der Optimierung und Individualisierung des bestehenden Sortiments hin zu zusätzlichen Services reichen – nicht zuletzt Reiseservices. Für all dies, verbunden mit dem Ausbau der aktuellen Position, bilden die Technologie, Infrastruktur und Expertise von Flexport optimale Voraussetzungen.

Flexport schafft bei Horizn Studios Transparenz für vertrauensvolle Beziehungen zu Kunden und Partnern – selbst in unvorhersehbaren Situationen.

Share the Article

arrowImage

Sind Sie bereit?

Registrieren Sie sich für Ihr Flexport-Konto oder lassen Sie sich unsere Plattform in Aktion vorführen.

Sign Up for Freight Market Updates

Get weekly insights into all things freight, delivered right to your inbox.

I agree to the storing and processing of my personal data by Flexport as described in the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Customer Success

Travel Brand Horizn Studios Takes Off with Simplified Operations

By the Numbers

94%

of shipments delivered on time

99.8%

product availability

35%

monthly growth rate

Leading smart travel brand, Horizn Studios, breathes new life into a centuries-old industry and transforms operations

Overview

Horizn Studios is Europe’s leading travel brand for the next generation. The company’s unique approach fuses developments in technology with first-class design, perfectly meeting the needs of today’s tech-savvy digital nomads. A fast-growing international company, Horizn Studios sources superior materials from around the globe to create innovative luggage and travel accessories.

Challenges

Horizn Studios was Europe’s first smart luggage brand, and Europe’s first vertical player in the luggage industry. When it started, the company faced issues with end-to-end visibility and managing distribution due to scheduling and communication challenges. As a result, building trust with its partners and customers became paramount for the young, fast-growing brand. For it to take off, Horizn Studios needed accuracy, control, and reliability from its supply chain.

Solution

Partnering with Flexport for its freight forwarding needs, Horizn Studios is now able to take better command of its shipping process. And as a result, it has captured the visibility needed to ensure smoother operations and better communications—with its partner ecosystem and with customers—leading to a monthly growth rate of 35%, with almost no stockouts.

"Other big freight forwarding companies also have portals, but they’re more limited — you can only see the status of the shipment. They don’t have the check-in aspect of Flexport. The information we gain from the Flexport platform is super critical for us and our customers. It allows us to better communicate and set expectations."

Rafael Haymann
Head of Operations, Horizn Studios

Getting Started

Launched in 2015, Berlin-based brand Horizn Studios set out to make luggage for the creative class: People who have an eye for detail and appreciate innovation. Focusing on smart luggage, the company has expanded its offerings to include an array of backpacks and weekenders as well as accessories and services to make travel easier and more enjoyable.

In the beginning, finding partners was tricky without a reputation to fall back on. Soon, though, the company started growing and quickly established itself as Europe’s leading smart travel brand. Now Horizn Studios finds itself able to do forecasting, optimize processes in production, and better manage fulfillment and benchmarking. In this new era, the company boasts 99.8% product availability, thanks to 94% of its shipments arriving on time.

Visibility, Communications, and Expertise

Having information for shipments centralized in the platform—and available for real-time updates by everyone involved in the process—gives the company critical data to be agile and advance its business. “Other big freight forwarding companies also have portals, but they are more limited—you can only see the status of a shipment,” says Haymann. “Back in the Stone Age, if we had a shipment going, we’d hear ‘I don’t know, I’ll get back to you.’ The ping-ponging back and forth whenever information or an update was needed was difficult,” adds Haymann. Now, he and his team can focus on more important matters like setting up processes and optimizing production and fulfillment. “We have nothing to worry about with regard to logistics,” says Haymann.

With the needed transparency, Horizn Studios uses data from the Flexport platform directly on its e-commerce site so customers get real-time updates regarding when to expect product availability or delivery. “If we are running out of stock, we can communicate when we’ll have it back and in customers’ hands. The numbers they see on our website are the same numbers we get out of Flexport’s system,” explains Haymann.

That kind of reliance on actionable data is also critical as Horizn Studios starts building relationships with wholesalers and its ability to grow is directly tied to its distribution. The more it can scale through wholesale partners and other distribution channels, the clearer the path to growth.

The control and visibility from the platform and its data let teams across Horizn Studios improve planning around when inventory is coming, when to inform other stakeholders, and how to plan marketing campaigns. “We all have access to the Flexport platform and the expertise that comes with it. Our whole team interacts with it, whether from Fulfillment, Business Development, Manufacturing, Production, or Finance,” says Haymann. “In fact, at least three teams have direct access and work with Flexport on a daily basis,” he adds.

Flexport’s Squad Model has also been instrumental in keeping Horizn Studios’ shipments on track and moving forward. For instance, when the company faced customs declaration issues, the Flexport squad was able to resolve them while keeping Horizn updated every step of the way.

A Global Partner

“We are a very international company. Our employees are from 30 different countries. So we wanted a partner who could help us transcend that and offer us flexibility. Flexport is truly a global partner for us,” Haymann says. But even more than that, the company also wanted an equal partner in innovation. “There’s a freshness factor in working with Flexport that fits well with our culture. Flexport is different and feels like innovation in the market.”

As the company looks ahead, it sees greenfield opportunities from customizing and enhancing its existing product line to expanding the services it offers— including travel services. But first, it acknowledges, it needs to excel at its present mission. Key to making that happen will be the technology, infrastructure, and expertise that Flexport offers.

For Horizn Studios, Flexport gives the luggage brand the transparency needed to cultivate trust with its customers and partner ecosystem—even in unpredictable situations.

Share the Article

arrowImage

Ready to Get Started?

Sign up for a Flexport account or ask to see our platform in action.

Sign Up for Freight Market Updates

Get weekly insights into all things freight, delivered right to your inbox.

I agree to the storing and processing of my personal data by Flexport as described in the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.